‘Which doll is nice?’

During our seminar today we watched a video that showed young black children choosing between white and black dolls. As I watched the outcome of the short clip I recalled a similar experience. One day at daycare all the little girls were playing with dolls. Most of the children were white except one little girl(age 3) was black. All the white dolls were taken but there was still a black doll. I offered it to the black girl who had not yet grabbed a doll. She got so anger and said she didn’t want that one and she pointed at the other dolls that were being played with. I told her she would have to wait and so she ran away pouting and cried for awhile. 

I personally did think it was a little strange but I don’t recall consciously being very concerned. I remember not understanding what was the big deal. Now, after todays class I have realized that children, even as young as 2 and 3 years old, are conscious of race and already have been exposed to the unjust racial hierarchies present in todays society.

One thought on “‘Which doll is nice?’

Leave a Reply

