Anti-oppressive Education

Kumashiro describes the three different perspectives in both a positive and negative way. He see’s them as oppressive but also as necessary. I identified my learning experience with the last two teacher images. The U of R’s education program has a lot of reflective experiences as well as  activities to help you discover who you are as an individual. However, this is not the only approach; I have also learnt the importance of becoming a professional. After reading this chapter I was able to see how oppression is visible in these two teaching models. But I think that now that I am more aware of anti-oppressive education and how important it is to constantly be examining yourself I will better be able to avoid falling into oppressive ways of teaching and learning.

One thought on “Anti-oppressive Education

Leave a Reply

