Stories From the North; Incorporating Inuit values into the Sk Curriculum

There are many values in the Inuit way of life that I thought could be easily adapted in order to be incorporated into any type of classroom. The beliefs inside the classroom were strength based and were easily understood by all age ranges. Based on the grade level the community beliefs could be adapted as well as differently interpreted. This allows for a constant reinforcement of common values that are then shared by students of all ages as well as community members. When I heard the 38 beliefs I immediately decided that someday I would use these values in my own classroom. Some ideas that Julie gave such as a welcome quilt, re-representation of the beliefs, and picture writing excited me to try these different things with my future students. All the activities and values focused on a key component of empathy and creating a safe and hopeful environment for all children. I too believe that this is important and is the foundation for a positive and successful learning experience.

One thought on “Stories From the North; Incorporating Inuit values into the Sk Curriculum

  1. lperepeluk says:

    Sarah, I would most definitely like to visit your future classroom. I understand that your classroom will be a safe place, with beliefs/common values as the core foundation. I would like to emphasize the impact of your last sentence, as it is great to see the definite integration of a positive and successful learning experience. I hope you do stick to the challenge of building your future classroom in this exact way.

Leave a Reply

