Learn with me about Google Cardboard!

Since starting my digital journey in ECMP355 I have had access to so many current education and technology trends. Some days it feels like I am being overstimulated with information. However, I have learned so much more than I could have imagined in the last couple of weeks! 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One thing that really amazed me was something called Google Cardboard. It is a new design and app put out by google which allows you to enter virtual realities! I had no idea this was possible until I saw it pop-up in my twitter feed. I decided to do some more research and so I started to follow their blog as well.

Some of the things I have learned and also some ways that I believe this new innovation would be useful in the classroom are:

  1. You can build your own device from scratch (a great hands on experience for students)!
  2. It has been used to help save lives!
  3. Teachers can sign up for free virtual field trips to take their students on!
  4. Students can learn to create their own videos to be viewed as virtual tours (either with GoPro’s or with video editing).
  5. It can provide students with other experiences that you never thought possible!

This app is completely free! So why not explore it alongside your students!

Leave a Reply

