Do guitars have a place in the classroom?

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 10.22.43 PM

My learning project for ecmp355 is about me learning to play the guitar. However, lately I have found myself wondering how I could transfer this skill into the classroom? During my internship many of my students gravitated towards playing with the guitar I had brought into the classroom for our sound unit. This was one of the main reasons I chose playing the guitar as my project.

I Can….Learn the Guitar

I’ve spent the past few days researching different resources that I think could be used to help students learn to play the guitar.

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 4.40.08 PM

Here are just a few^

Questions I still have….

  1. Has anyone seen guitars used in regular classrooms? How were they used? Was it successful/meaningful?
  2. What are your views on making instruments available to students?
  3. How can we provide quality instruments for students to experiment with?
5 thoughts on “Do guitars have a place in the classroom?

  1. Andrew Gerrand says:

    So I am not very musically talented in a family that has a ton of musically talented people. Even though the potential for me teaching music to students is a terrifying prospect, I still feel there is massive potential for music in the classroom. I am looking forward to hearing your progress. This video inspires me any time I think of music in the classroom. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mYKLvYGqaC0

    • sarahjoyross says:

      Thanks for your feedback and inspirational video! I agree with your fears on teaching music in the classroom. I took piano for 8 years but stopped practicing in high school. However, it is definitely something that I want to gain some more confidence in!

  2. kerriecraske says:

    Hi Sarah! Interesting blog post. I too think that music has great potential in the classroom. I know my brother and his class had the opportunity to use and play ukuleles in the classroom as part of the arts education curriculum. I know that some high schools here in Regina offer earned credit classes for learning guitar or piano. I think that music creates a positive and calm learning environment. I have heard before that music helps to develop language and students writing abilities, I would still like to know why though.

    • sarahjoyross says:

      Oh wow that’s super interesting! I think I will plan to look into that a bit more! Thanks for the insight! I remember learning the penny whistle in school; was a relatively cheap instrument and we had a musician teach it too us! I think bringing in musicians to teach students is definitely an option! I also really liked how you talked about the calming effects is has in the classroom. Great point!

Leave a Reply

