DIGITAL Classroom Management

corks.jpg

I’ve been thinking a lot about classroom management lately. It is one of those things that I feel we don’t learn enough strategies for in University. I came across this quote earlier and thought that it creates such an accurate picture of what it is like to control a classroom.

I was loooking though some blogs in my feedly account and found a really interesting one about online classroom management tools. I thought it would be a great idea to share these and hope that they can help give some useful strategies for management.

Some of you may have seen these tools before but hopefully there is a few new ones:

  1. SOCRATIVE
  • Pros:
  • free
  • Assessment tool
  • student friendly
  • Cons:
  • all students must have access to a device
  1. CLASS DOJO
  • Pros:
  • free
  • visually appealing
  • fun for students
  • Cons:
  • point system
  1. STICK PICK
  • Pros:
  • New and exciting way to manage groups and assessment
  • Can be used as an assessment site
  • Cons:
  • only for apple products
  • costs $5
  1. EXIT TICKET
  • Pros:
  • free
  • really useful site to engage students
  • can regularly check for understanding
  • Cons:
  • every student needs a device
  1. LEARNING BOOST
  • Pros:
  • free
  • Great way to keep record of everything students are doing
  • can share progress with parents
  • can keep attendance records
  • it organizes data for you on how well your students are doing
  • Cons:
  • School divisions may already have similar tools in place
  1. CLASS CHARTS
  • Pros:
  • free
  • can track students behaviors over a period of time (this data could be used for referrals)
  • can create interactive seating plans and have the computer regenerate new ones
  • Cons: NONE
  1. GOOGLE CLASSROOM
  • Pros:
  • free
  • set up assignments, grade, and leave comments
  • communicate with your class outside of class time
  • Cons:
  • all students need a device
  • all students need to create an account
  1. NEAR POD
  • Pros:
  • free
  • can connect with all students through a presentation all at once
  • creates interactive lessons
  • many ready made lessons that are available for you to use
  • Cons:
  • only for apple products
  • all students need a device
  1. CLASS ACT
  • Pros:
  • free
  • helps you tract the progress of each student with different concepts using a colour code
  • Cons:
  • only compatible on apple products
  1. CLASSROOM TIMER
  • Pros:
  • free
  • visually appealing
  • Cons:
  • only can be used on apple devices
  1. STOP GO!
  • Pros:
  • really neat design for a classroom timer tool
  • uses colour really well
  • Cons:
  • costs $1.39
  • only for apple products
  1. TRAFFIC LIGHT
  • Pros:
  • free
  • can be used for classroom management by giving students behavior instructions
  • visually appealing
  • Cons:
  • only compatible with apple products
  1. PLICKERS
  • Pros:
  • free
  • collect exit slip data
  • test students
  • only need one device!
  • Cons:
  • only for apple products
  1. TEAM SHAKE
  • Pros:
  • fun way to make teams
  • visually appealing
  • Cons:
  • costs $1.39
  • only for apple products
  1. BOUNCY BALLS
  • Pros:
  • free
  • visually appealing
  • interactive
  • can be used on all devices
  • Cons:
  • mic needs to be close to students

 

I hadn’t herd of most of these devices. Although many of them are similar they still had some differences. I defiantly plan to try out a few of them in my own classroom. Hope they are helpful to some of you!

 

 

9 thoughts on “DIGITAL Classroom Management

  1. Ashton Mills says:

    This is such an awesome post, Sarah. Super helpful! I’ll definitely have to check some of these out. Assessment is an area that I feel that I struggle in, so I’m glad to see that you included some apps that could definitely help me. Thanks for writing this post!

  2. harderkylie says:

    I agree with Ashton! This is a fantastic and super resourceful post. I agree that we do not learn enough about classroom management and most of them do not have technology so this was an interesting read. I never really considered Google Classroom but my field placement teacher uses it and it is so cool! And super easy to give feedback on.

    • sarahjoyross says:

      Oh really? That’s awesome! I had never considered google classroom before I did this post either. It does seem very useful though, especially for teaching older students. Thanks for the feedback.

  3. toriglynn says:

    You mentioned that you felt university courses have not properly equipped you with classroom management strategies. Why do you think that is? Is it because these courses do not explicitly give us lists of strategies to apply in our field placements? Do you believe that would be helpful?
    If these strategies are not explicitly taught, where do we learn them? In school? From our parents? Through resources that week seek out? Do the same strategies work regardless of teaching style, personality, and classroom culture?
    I appreciate the extensive list of classroom management resources that you provided within your post. I believe that they are exactly that – resources and tools.Can you elaborate more on why you believe classroom management techniques/strategies are essential to our teaching practice?

    • sarahjoyross says:

      I think that our university classes focused so much on curriculum based planning and social justice topics and neglected to help us learn about classroom management strategies. I don’t think that a list of strategies is what we need, it’s easy to go on Pinterest and find a list. I think that learning through more in-depth experience in it and through personal stories by practicing teachers we would have gained more knowledge in this area. My own personal strategies were learnt through experiences outside of my university schooling. I honestly think that all teachers need to go through an experience in a classroom with students that are difficult to manage. I think that through hands-on experience we would learn what classroom management techniques work for us. I was privileged to have been given the freedom to try many techniques during my internship; however, i know that this is was not the case for everyone. I think it would be powerful to design a university course around classroom management, which includes a field placement in schools/classrooms where we are given the opportunity to observe/implement multiple forms of management.

      I think that university prepared me for a sheltered version of what the teaching profession would look like in reality. During my internship it wasn’t the planning that drained me, it was the classroom management aspect. I think that the day-to-day interactions with your students can make you love/hate the teaching profession. We as educators can not just be effective planners, we need to first become effective managers. If you have a perfectly planned lesson…but your students are running wild…you will never execute your pre-planned lesson. So yes, I think tools for management come first in planning for student success.

  4. Larissa Mack says:

    Sarah, this is an extremely useful post! I am definitely going to look at these different tools. I wish I would have known about these before internship! Great post! I completely agree with your statement that the university does not provide us with enough classroom management skills. I know that this is a huge part of our job and therefore feel there should be an emphasis on this. I know I learned a lot from my co-op and tried a lot of my own! Hope you had a similar experience.

Leave a Reply

