Online Identity and Sexualization

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 8.20.44 PM.png

I just finished watching the documentary; Sext Up Kids by Doc Zone. As soon as it started I realized I had already seen it a while back. However, I was just as interested about it the second time watching it. I believe that it brings up a lot of relevant issues around technology and sexuality. I also find it scary to think how some of the statistics referenced in the documentary may have gotten worse since it’s release date. As an older sibling with 4 younger siblings I find that this documentary really scares me for their online safety.

1. Chained too our Online Identity

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 8.21.39 PM.png

I think this photo depicts two very scary realities about digital identity. The first being that we are so reliant on technology and our identity that we do not know how to break free from it. The second being that our digital identity can trap us and hold us down. In the documentary it focus’ on how a negative digital identity can literally follow us every where we go. It also worries me to think of all the possible problems these kids might face when they grow up and want to get jobs, and have such a documented past online for anyone to access.

2. Reality Barrier; Healthy or Not?

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 8.26.25 PM.png

I love this picture because I feel like it so clearly depicts some of the biggest problems with technology. People now have a way to exist and communicate with others and the world through a screen. This can be a positive thing, if used responsibly. Sadly, as stated in the documentary, many people do not know how to properly use technology. Many people are finding it impossible to balance their lives both on and off the web. I think a lot of people do things online and forget that they can have negative repercussions in the real world. What we are learning more and more is that these negative repercussions can be detrimental to people.

3. There is more to BEAUTY than sex appeal

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 8.35.18 PM.png

This documentary really upset me. It showed how so many girls de-value themselves in order to make themselves appealing to others. It is scary to think that media and pop culture can so negatively influence the thoughts and actions of youth. I think there definitely needs to be a lot more changes in terms of standards of beauty and worth in order to stop this terrible cycle of girls undervaluing themselves.

MORE THOUGHTS….

Here is a video I found on my Facebook feed. I think it speaks really well to the topic I have been talking about. I also think that it connects to online social movements as well. Please watch it and tell me what you think of the #WOMENNOTOBJECTS.

 

2 thoughts on “Online Identity and Sexualization

  1. Larissa Mack says:

    Sarah, this is such a great post. I completely agree with you. Having three younger siblings as well I see a huge gap between the way I acted in comparison to how my youngest sister acts in the usage of technology! I love the #womennotobjects video. Have you seen the one with the men in the place of all the women being objectified? It honestly looks so ridiculous and this speaks volumes to the hyper-sexuality of women! Even during internship I noticed that the girls in middle school were wearing so much make-up, heels, skirts, etc. When I was in middle school it was a good day if I didn’t wear sweats and a ponytail! haha. Things have changed and its a bit scary!

  2. leannevarley says:

    I love how you have connected the documentary to these images! Like the saying goes, ‘a picture is worth a thousand words’! Not even considering sexuality, the advancement of technology scares me and what it is doing to our social skills. The image you have posted of the phone separating the friends and family members so accurately depicts what society is like, and it scares me as I see people supposedly more connected to others, yet so socially unaware.
    I am curious, how young do you think is too young to start formally educating students about sexuality and the complete sexualization of society? Is there even such thing ‘as too young’?

Leave a Reply

