I was not built to photograph sunrises…4am is too early

Welcome back! Last week I said I wanted to try some long exposure to add a layer of difficulty to capturing my perfect sunset photo. So I started by researching how to take long-exposure photos (click here to watch a screen recording of me walking through the links I used this week to inform my project).

I quickly learned that I had a skewed idea of what long exposure really was. I thought it was more of a time-lapse effect, where in reality it is tied to your shutter speed. I also reviewed and purchased a tripod (after learning that stability was essential for a long exposure shot). As I spent more time searching online I found out that it was also important for focus during a long exposure to not press the actual ‘photo button’ on the camera (sorry I can’t recall the technical name). So I then researched and download the Canon app that allowed me to control my camera from my phone (this was VERY helpful, I wish I had known about it sooner). As I continued to research my project for the week I found a lot of photographers chose to capture long exposures at sunrise (not my forte, but I figured why not, it has to be similar to sunset…I was wrong, very wrong). So with my camera, phone, and tripod, I figured I was all set to capture the perfect sunrise. One problem…sunrise happens at 4:48 am and all of the research was telling me I had to be out there an hour before that to properly set up.

So I decided to pack for a short camping trip, I figured that this way I could sleep at the spot I was going to take the picture. In my mind, I thought I would be able to wake up, set up everything, and then crawl back into my tent to take the photo from my phone (inside the warm tent). I thought I had it all figured out…

Our campsite the night before, facing the water and what I thought was where the sunrise would take place.

I arrived at the campsite and set up. I did a little more research to ensure I was completely prepared for my early morning. As I crawled into bed I made sure I had all my equipment right beside me and I set my alarm for 4:00 am. When the alarm went off I jumped out of bed and quickly grabbed all my belongings to start setting up. I got my tripod ready, I aimed my camera, and then I ran back to the tent to start adjusting the shutter speed as well as some of the other settings (I am still trying to only use the manual setting so that I get more confident with adjusting the controls). However, my tent was too far from where my tripod need to be so the connection from my phone did not work. So I sadly crawled out of the tent, found a lawn chair, and set up a spot just after 4:00am.

Me eagerly waiting for the sunrise shot… my tent in the background (where I wish I could have been)

As I waited for the first sign of the sun I began to get excited, I had very high hopes after reading so many blogs and watching so many videos of some amazing sunrise, long exposure shots. However… as I waited I started to notice colour forming out of the corner of my eye, to the left of me…not where I had set up camp, and nowhere near where I could easily access the sunrise…I had booked a campsite facing the WRONG direction… I couldn’t believe it, after all the research I did, I never thought to look up WHERE the sun would rise. With sunSET photography you just follow the sun and the colour, with sunRISE photography you have to be there before the sun, so you have to know where it is (obvious now, was not obvious then).

The moment when I realized I was going to miss my perfect long exposure sunrise photo.

Anyways, I decided to still make the most of the opportunity so I tested different shutter speeds and took multiple photos. I will share the one I finally decided was the best of the worst, but just know I was disappointed with it.

The moon was neat but the colors didn’t light up and the long exposure didn’t really show up in any observable way.

I guess this is why this assignment is called a learning project, if you don’t fail sometimes then you aren’t learning. I learned a lot from this week’s project, I think I was just more devastated because I got up at 4am and didn’t get the shot. Oh well, there is always next time. I think this week I will go back to sunsets (they just seem to be easier for me) and I will try a long exposure sunset (no more 4 am wake-ups). With this class nearing the end I may also try to use another camera to vlog my photography process so that I can demonstrate how I get my shots!

Thanks again for tuning in to this week’s update! Hopefully, I will have more of a success story for you next time!

…I did get a camping trip out of it so it wasn’t all bad! 🙂

P.S. Don’t forget to check out my Instagram where I have been posting other photos I have been taking as well!

3 Replies to “I was not built to photograph sunrises…4am is too early”

  1. Sarah – this is incredible! I know you’re disappointed, but I still think what you captured is amazing. I love looking at all your photos. I admire your dedication to this. I mean, a little camping trip is always fun, but I hear you when you say 4am was just a little too early. I can’t wait to see more shots.

  2. Haha thanks, I think all of the examples I see online were just so amazing (that lovely comparison game that we can play with being able to access so much online haha).

    Thanks for the response though! It was very encouraging! 🙂

Leave a comment