The Best Photography Platforms…and it’s not Google

Hey guys!

Thanks for all your support in reading my blog each week. This last week was tough for me to accomplish what I had planned to do. I was really looking forward to trying a long exposure at sunset and also videoing my process. Unfortunately, my husband (who I was going to ‘hire’ to film me while I walked you through the process) got called away for work this week, so I wasn’t able to simultaneously vlog and take photos. My second dilemma was that the weather was just not great. Between the rain and mosquitos, I wasn’t able to get a long exposure shot like I had planned. So I still took some photos, most of which are not nice enough to share, and I settled on one that was neither long exposure nor a vlog. However, my plan is to do a final wrap-up post of my project this week where I am able to deliver both of these things! **Fingers Crossed**

…if only it was a long exposure

With all the unpredictable weather this week, I spent a lot of time continuing to research photography tips and tricks. As I was researching I started to notice that there were certain platforms I preferred compared to others. Some were a lot more user-friendly, inspiring, and more informative than others. So for this week, I thought I would compile the various sites/apps I have used on my photography journey and review which ones I felt were helpful in my self-taught journey. (Ps. I borrowed the rating system from Laura Gaboury when I saw the way she rated her bread with dough balls! Loved that!)

Self-Teaching Apps/Websites for Photography

As you can probably see, I have found Pinterest, Youtube, and Instagram to be the most helpful in my photography journey. Although I have used all 5 to help with my photography, I have found those three the most useful. However, the nice thing about all 5 of these online spaces is they are a great springboard for finding other really neat resources and websites. I actually considered listing Google but I realized that I seem to prefer to start my searches on one of these sites OR Google eventually takes me to one of these sites. It’s interesting to think that Google was ALL the rage and now I rarely use it.

Do you find this as well with Google, or am I the only one?

Overall I have really enjoyed growing my photography learning network through these platforms. I think that the ability to save, share, or create allows these platforms to work better as a teaching tool for learning a skill online. Being able to participate on the platform or save things for later is a BIG plus!

I’m curious though, what platforms have YOU been accessing the most on your learning journey?

P.S. Not photographed…the mosquitos drinking all my blood while I took the photo below

2 Replies to “The Best Photography Platforms…and it’s not Google”

  1. Hey Sarah. First off, you take BEAUTIFUL photos! You sure have talent for capturing some great scenery. Like you, I have found YouTube to be one of the best platforms for accessing content. The step-by-step breakdown of learning has really been helpful for me. I like the variety of videos that can be found on there too. Everything from a couple minutes to a couple hours is great to be able choose from. I find I’m doing less sorting through resources on YouTube, as well. It seems to do a solid job of filtering and finding the best content (or so it seems). Hopefully you have some after-bite for all those mosquitoes!

  2. That water picture WOW Tre bien! I love a beautiful sunset/sunrise picture when water is involved, I think it was captured beautifully. I really liked the rating system and think it was a really great way to critique the platforms you used. For me I found myself taking an online class that the videos were locked but youtube linked, TikTok, instagram and facebook reels for inspiration. Congrats on your accomplishments so far and I hope you do find better weather to capture the types of pictures you are wanting.

Leave a comment